Basics of Local Government

hqdefault - CopyCity Governments

There are 62 cities in New York State, ranging in size from the City of New York at over 8.1 million residents to the City of Sherrill with a population of just under 3,100. Citizens who live in a city also live in within a county. Although cities have the home rule power to revise their charters and adopt new charters, this authority is not unlimited, and must be exercised in accordance with the State Constitution and the Legislature’s grant of local law powers to cities. Cities have the right to take all measures and do all acts by local law, which would include adopting and amending charters that are not inconsistent with the State Constitution, and are not inconsistent with any general law of the State.

Generally, city charters address the basic organizational actions of the city including the name, boundaries, powers, fiscal year, type of legislative body and other administrative processes. Cities have the authority to provide a variety of local government services directly to its residents including water and wastewater infrastructure, public safety services, economic development, social services and many other general purpose activities of government.

Please visit NYS Division of Local Government to find more information baout different types of Local Governments in New York. 

Helpful Links:
Hudson's City Charter and Code
About Hudson